Arise, O Sleeper

Ephesians 5:13-16

13 “But when anything is exposed by the light, it becomes visible. 14 for anything that becomes visible is light. Therefore it says, ‘Awake, O sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.’ 15 Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, 16 making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.”

This has been a profound scripture for me recently. I find that when I get further from God, I tend to sleep a lot more. I tend to ignore the cause of Christ on my life. I am the living dead. My purpose and vision is not as clear. Things are fuzzy. Like a foggy morning that blocks the sun; you could say that I am walking, well, in darkness.

But, when I come realize this fact and admit that I am in sin (by my mere separation from God instead of a particular sinful act), it shines light on it. And, as it says, that which becomes visible IS light.

That means that in the instant that I shine light on my wrong path, my path become visible and thus, light. I am instantly in God’s grace again.

I also realize that other things in my life fall into order. Waking up early to write about God, study His word, planning my day and working out all seem to come back together with ease. Struggling to rise at 4:30 a.m. is gone. I seem to just hop out of bed ready for my day.

That is what it is to be ‘awake’; to rise with purpose, to know one’s destiny (or at least be at peace and full of faith that God knows your destiny.)

Why all of this rising, and asleep and awake? Because there is only one commodity that we lack, and that is time.

Though we are, all of us (the righteous and the unrighteous), eternal beings, there is only a brief time that we can make our stand. This life is a proving ground where we wave our colors, be they the colors of light or colors of darkness.

We stand here in the temporal to determine how we shall spend the rest of our eternal existence.

As it says in verse 16, we must make the best use of our time. We must be sure to walk in wisdom in our short time on this earth in this time.

This is what it means to Awake, O Sleeper! Arise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you!!

I encourage you. Rise today! Raise your banner in your heart once again that it may blow in the wind of God.

Regain the purpose of your heart, so that Christ may shine on you today, and always.

4 Responses to Arise, O Sleeper

  1. Heath says:

    Grant, I really love this one! Thanks for the inspiration. There never does seem to be enough hours in the day. It is important that we recognize separation from God as a sin and problem only Christ can fix. Shine on shiny shinerton.

  2. Linda Hiles says:

    Newly published Christian author Linda Hiles – writes with a descriptive, objective heart that leads to a refreshing point of view, as she openly rebukes the heart of God’s people in hopes of reminding them as to their station in life.
    With her new approach in leading others through sound doctrine and with encouraging words, her highly-anticipated book, Arise, O Sleeper, will meet the readers in hope, bring them truth and award them with freedom.

    Buried deep within the written Word of God secrets are revealed to the ‘Body of Christ,’ however, one must move past the surface of things in order to find their true meaning.

    Many of these secrets have been revealed through the pages of Arise, O Sleeper, answering questions that have been hidden for generations. Although we all have been given the same opportunity to dig deeper to find these hidden truths, many have not used their gifts nor sought out their purpose in life. Linda Hiles is the exemplary to this fact. She carefully constructs a timely format that expounds on each truth uncovered, sharing through Scripture references where truth meets faith and pushes us into a better tomorrow.

    It is her hope that you would be inspired to read her newly published book, since your heart is moved to speak on this very same topic.

    Blessings,
    Linda Hiles

    Arise, O Sleeper
    http://www.lindahiles.com

  3. Dahe' says:

    I randomly across this writing this morning and how powerful it was! This is EXACTLY where I am at right now with my walk. Raised in the church, always sailing the seas of mediocracy in my boat (the S.S. Lukewarm), I recently completely, truly surrendered my life to the Lord due to a break-up. The best (and worst) part about these past 5 weeks is that is hasn’t been calm waters at all . . . I’ve been in a storm. But praise God because I am finally learning how to sail! God is directing me, using me, working on me, and ultimately refining me. My fervor is unquenchable it seems. My heartache is still very present, but I know I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Thanks for sharing!

    -Dahle’

  4. Have you ever considered creating an e-book or guest
    authoring on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my viewers would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

